Worth the Fall

I have read in the
Annals of rationality
Of an untrustworthy guide
That dwells inside of me

It looks ever-backward
Discerning false lessons from the past
Then projecting them to my future
A haze shrouding all my paths

It gives into temptation
And drifts with the fickle wind
To whichever threshold it finds;
Unthinking, it enters in

Yet it leads me astray only in earnest
It errs only in generosity to me
Surely, I tread more happily with it
Than my present companion, apathy.

I’ll incline my ear now more readily
Whenever I hear it’s call
Emotion, you’ll be the death of me
But you’ll make life worth the fall.

 

Leave a Reply

